Dancing In The Street (Music-less)


By: Mario Wienerroither
Original: David Bowie and Mick Jagger

I don’t know how I failed to spot these incredible ‘music-less’ videos before now.

Sound designer Mario Wienerroither has made short parodies of popular music videos which remove all the music and replace it with sound effects and speech to show what it would be like without the song.

There are some great parodies on his YouTube channel, but this version of Dancing in the Street was definitely my favourite. Here’s the original, which I love.

A close second is this pretty wonderful version of Oops I Did It Again. I feel like they work best when there’s no obvious musical source in the video – no drums or guitar being played, and minimal ‘singing’. It’s great work and a fantastic way for him to showcase his sound skills.

