Look Up

Written, Performed and Directed by Gary Turk

From YouTube: “‘Look Up’ is a lesson taught to us through a love story, in a world where we continue to find ways to make it easier for us to connect with one another, but always results in us spending more time alone.”

As I post this to the See Short Films blog, Look Up has had over 35 million views on YouTube. I’ve seen it linked to by lots of people on social networks (delicious irony) and it’s caused quite the debate among some friends.

For myself, I appreciate the sentiment but don’t live with my own face glued to the small screen, so it’s not necessarily inspired me to change. I am a believer in taking time away from the phone and social media, in meeting with friends in person when you can, in putting the damn phone away when you are eating, and in looking up and not down to see what’s around you.

However, I love the connected world we live in, the fact that I can keep in contact with friends who live far away, and that we can learn what’s happening around the world from the people who are experiencing events themselves.

Balance is the key, I think.

